Retrospective Unemployed

I’ve been funemployed for the past 4 months, and it’s been an interesting experience to say the least. Now that I have a job I’d like to share my experience in retrospect. There are obvious benefits to not working, like tons of free time and no responsibilities. But there are also cons, like no income and lack of structure. Also, girls are extremely averse to unemployed males. So if you’ve ever thought about quitting your day-job, please read on.

I sincerely loved those carefree vagabond days when I had all the time in the world to do whatever I wanted, no deadlines or pressure. Don’t misunderstand me, I love my new career and the satisfaction it gives me. But there isn’t much time to do things like when I had the whole day to myself. My days usually started late, because I love sleeping in. I would read a book or do a puzzle or clean the house, whatever I felt like doing. I started exercising more, because I wasn’t tired from work. I did activities I never had time for while working. I had forgotten how nice a bubble-bath felt, how good a home cooked meal tasted, and how satisfying a completed puzzle looked. My dad is retired, so we did plenty of weekday activities together. He took me to a noon-concert in downtown San Francisco, we hiked China Camp state park, and we even went to dollar day at Oakland A’s coliseum. (Ironically parking was $30)

My cat Felix loved me being at home all the time. He likes to sit on my lap every chance he gets. I didn’t mind because usually I was reading a book from the library. Also, some of my friends work retail, so they get Wednesdays off. It was refreshing to go on midweek road trips or just go bowling and grab dinner without the crowds. I also grew a mustache which I never would in public. I bought a raspberry pi computer and started practicing linux commands too. I turned into something like a hermit, which I enjoyed. 

I like to think that my unemployment period was similar to a sabbatical leave. I feel recharged now, ready to do anything. With all the time in the world at my disposal I accomplished everything I wanted and finally found that I was bored, ready to start my next career challenge. I don’t know if I would recommend quitting if given the choice, but I enjoyed it at least. Now that I’m working again, I make time for the important things and they mean so much more to me. I’m prioritizing fitness, emotional well being, and continuous learning (as hackneyed as that sounds). Maybe don’t quit your day job…

Writing

Clinton View All →

I’m looking for ways to encourage my passions, like writing and web developing.

Leave a comment

tvtimeshowworldforever

Just another WordPress.com site

Avid Procrastinator

avidly thoughtful, avidly anxious, avidly lazy.

The Mundane

Ramblings of a woman

Clairisa Phoinix

This site is going to be about my interests like my love for writing, favorite books & reading challengese, general topics.

Eleanore R Steinle

Author, Speaker, and Artist

Mighty Jazzy

Sharing the life of a teen boy

Own Your Content

Own Your Content is a campaign from WordPress.com & CreativeMornings, encouraging creatives to own their content, platform, and the future of their work.

straightedgeisbeautiful

Get to know about Angel Cervantes...and Pop Culture. Explore the archives and i guarantee you will find something you like.

I drink and watch anime

Anime drinking games pretending to be reviews

holly da silva

Aberdeen Lifestyle Blogger

Swords & Spectres

Book and audiobook reviewer to the fantastic, the spooky and the far-out

Stories I've Never Told...

(...and some I have)

The Comic Vault

Unlock your inner geek and step inside!

MovieBabble

Ramblings of the Cinema

Clinton's Home

For sharing memories and updates